Alert

December 2022

7 THINGS EMPLOYERS SHOULD DO AFTER HIRING AN EMPLOYEE 1. Get a W-4. This is a federal tax form that tells you how much federal income tax to withhold from an employee’s wages. The amount of federal withholding is based on marital status and withholding allowances, but your employees can specify a dollar amount to […]

Reminder: Your Company’s Annual Report Is Due in Two Weeks

If your business is a corporation or limited liability company (LLC) registered to do business in Florida, state law requires you to file a simple report every year with the state’s corporate registry to keep your company active. These reports are due to the Florida Division of Corporations by May 1st of each year. Reports filed after […]

Free Workers’ Comp Webinars

The State of Florida offers free, one-hour webinars for employers on workers’ compensation requirements. Licensed contractors and electrical contractors can receive a continuing education credit for taking the online seminar. Topics covered include:  Who is required to carry workers’ comp insurance­ in Florida How business owners can exempt out of workers’ comp­ in Florida Contractors’ […]

FUBA Fact: Be Cautious About Notices for Your Company’s Annual Report

In FUBA’s role as the small business watchdog, we are urging our members to be cautious about mail or emails you might get about your company’s 2022 Annual Report.  All corporations and limited liability companies (LLCs) operating in Florida must file an online update called an Annual Report every year with the State of Florida’s official […]

PAID LEAVE FOR COVID NO LONGER REQUIRED

One of the most frequently asked questions we get at FUBA from our small business members is whether they have to provide paid time off from work to employees dealing with COVID. The answer is no. In 2020, employees were entitled to two weeks (up to 10 weeks in certain circumstances) of paid leave if […]

Florida Minimum Wage Increases to $10.00 An Hour On September 30th

On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved Amendment 2 to the Florida Constitution which gradually increases the Florida minimum wage each September 30th until it reaches $15.00 an hour in 2026.  The first scheduled increase goes into effect September 30, 2021 and raises the Florida minimum wage to $10.00 an hour, with a minimum wage […]

SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan Program Webinar

The Small Business Administration (SBA) will be hosting a free webinar on September 9th from 2-4 EDT for small businesses interested in applying for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL). The EIDL program provides economic relief to businesses that have been financially impacted by the coronavirus. The webinar will detail application eligibility and steps to apply […]

New Direct PPP Forgiveness Portal

The US Small Business Administration has opened an online portal for small businesses to apply for forgiveness of their PPP loans.  Until now, the only way to apply for PPP forgiveness was with the bank that gave you the loan.  This new portal allows you to bypass your bank and go directly to the Small […]

Free Workers’ Comp Webinars

The Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation offers business owners, especially contractors, FREE webinars on the requirements of Florida’s workers’ compensation laws and Workplace Safety. The webinars are held via computer and last one hour.  The topics covered include:  Which businesses are required to have workers’ comp insurance­ Which business owners can exempt out of workers’ comp­ Contractors’ […]

Outdoor Supplies and Event Tickets will be Tax-Free July 1-7

The sale of supplies for outdoor activities as well as tickets for some events will be tax-free in Florida beginning Thursday, July 1 through Wednesday, July 7, 2021. On these dates, qualifying boating and water activity supplies, camping supplies, fishing supplies, general outdoor supplies, and sports equipment will not be subject to the Florida sales […]