LOANS AVAILABLE FOR BUSINESSES IMPACTED BY SEVERE WEATHER IN MAY

Businesses that were affected by the tornados and severe weather in north Florida in May can apply for assistance from the Florida Small Business Emergency Bridge Loan program. This program provides short-term, no-interest loans of up to $50,000. Small businesses in need of assistance in the following counties are eligible to apply: Baker, Colombia, Escambia, Gadsden, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Suwannee, Taylor, and Wakulla. To file an application or to view the lending guidelines and needed documentation, visit FloridaJobs.org/EBL.


NEW FLORIDA LAWS EASE WORK RESTRICTIONS ON 16- AND 17-YEAR OLDS

Under two new Florida laws, 16-and 17-year olds in Florida can work longer hours and can also do some residential construction work.

Starting July 1, 2024, 16- and 17-year olds will now be able to:

  • Work more than 8 hours a day during the school year.
  • Can work up to 40 hours a week during the school year if their parent or guardian signs a waiver.
  • Can work unlimited days in a row.
  • Are exempt from work restrictions if they are home schooled, enrolled in a virtual school, or qualify for a hardship.
  • Can work in residential construction if they have an OSHA 10 certification and are directly supervised by someone 21 or older who has at least 2 years of related experience and who has their OSHA 10 certification.

Everyone under 18 is still prohibited from working on any scaffolding, roof, superstructure, or ladder above 6 feet. They are also prohibited from performing any work in violation of federal law or OSHA rules.

The state has updated its Child Labor poster to reflect these changes. The poster is available from the Florida Department of Regulation’s website at myfloridalicense.com/child-labor. If your business is a FUBA member, we can send you a free poster. Call our offices at 800-262-4483 or email us at FUBA@fuba.org.


DOES YOUR BUSINESS HIRE TEENS FOR THE SUMMER?

If your business will hire a teenager under the age of 18 for the summer, here is what you need to know:   

  1. Teens must be at least 14 years old to work in Florida.   
  2. No special documentation or permission is needed for your business to hire a teenager. Parents do not have to give permission for their child to work for your business, nor do you need to get a special work permit.
  3. You should keep a copy of the minor’s driver’s license or birth certificate as proof of age.
  4. Display a Child Labor poster at your workplace if you have employees under 18. This poster is available free for FUBA members. Call us at 800-262-4483 or email us at FUBA@fuba.org.
  5. Minors working at a business owned by their parents have no restrictions on the number of hours they can work, but they cannot work in a job that is considered hazardous (see below).
  6. No one under 18 can work as a delivery driver or operate a motor vehicle as a regular part of their job. 17-year olds can drive only one an occasional and incidental basis.
  7. No one under 18 can prepare or serve alcoholic beverages. 
  8. No one under 18 can work on roofs, scaffolding, or ladders above 6 feet. They cannot work in demolitions, wrecking, or excavation.  They cannot install or service TV/cable/satellite equipment and cannot service HVAC equipment attached to roofs. They also cannot work around toxic substances including pesticides or herbicides. 
  9. Here are the restrictions on how much minors can work during the summer:

During the summer, 14- and 15-year olds:

  • Can work up to 8 hours a day and up to 40 hours a week.
  • Cannot work more than 40 hours a week.
  • Can work between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • Cannot work more than 6 days in a row.
  • Must get a 30-minute break after working 4 consecutive hours. The break does not have to be paid.

During the summer, 16- and 17-year olds:

  • Can work unlimited hours.
  • Can work unlimited days in a row.
  • Must be paid overtime (time and a half) if they work more than 40 hours in a week.
  • Must get a 30-minute break after working 4 consecutive hours only if their shift is 8 or more hours.  The break can be unpaid.

If you have any questions about hiring a teenager, you can call the FUBA experts at 800-262-4483 or email us at FUBA@FUBA.org.


HURRICANE SUPPLIES ARE TAX-FREE JUNE 1ST THROUGH JUNE 14TH

Disaster supplies, supplies for evacuating with pets, and certain household items will be tax-free for two weeks starting August 26th. If your business sells any of these items, you must temporarily stop collecting the state sales tax on these items from August 26th through September 8th and report these sales as tax-free on your next sales tax filing.

If your business sells any of these items, you must temporarily stop collecting the state sales tax on these items from June 1st through June 14th. The Florida Department of Revenue has sent all retailers a bulletin with a detailed list of tax-free items. If you have questions, you can call the Department of Revenue’s toll-free Taxpayer Services line at 800-352-3671.

For more information or to see the complete list of tax-free hurricane supplies, please visit the Florida Department of Revenue’s website at floridarevenue.com/DisasterPrep/Pages/default.aspx.