Alerts

March 2022

FLORIDA REEMPLOYMENT TAX RATES FOR 2022 NOW AVAILABLE Most Florida employers are required to pay Florida reemployment tax (which is the same as unemployment tax) to the State of Florida. This tax is collected on your employees’ wages and is paid quarterly to the Florida Department of Revenue using the form RT-6 (the Employers Quarterly […]

Free Workers’ Comp Webinars

The State of Florida offers free, one-hour webinars for employers on workers’ compensation requirements. Licensed contractors and electrical contractors can receive a continuing education credit for taking the online seminar. Topics covered include:  Who is required to carry workers’ comp insurance­ in Florida How business owners can exempt out of workers’ comp­ in Florida Contractors’ […]

FUBA Fact: Be Cautious About Notices for Your Company’s Annual Report

In FUBA’s role as the small business watchdog, we are urging our members to be cautious about mail or emails you might get about your company’s 2022 Annual Report.  All corporations and limited liability companies (LLCs) operating in Florida must file an online update called an Annual Report every year with the State of Florida’s official […]

February 2022

ATTENTION FLORIDA BUSINESSES: FILING PORTAL FOR 2022 ANNUAL REPORTS IS NOW OPEN Florida businesses that are corporations or limited liability companies (LLCs) must file an online update every year with the State of Florida to keep the company’s status active. This update is called an Annual Report and is filed with the Florida Division of […]

January 2022

IRS MILEAGE RATE FOR 2022 The Internal Revenue Service has issued the 2022 standard mileage rate used by taxpayers claiming a mileage deduction for a vehicle they own or lease. For calendar year 2022, the mileage rate for using a vehicle for business purposes is increasing to 58.5 cents per mile driven. This is an […]

December 2021

UPDATE ON NEW LAW REQUIRING BUSINESSES TO REPORT INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS In last month’s newsletter, we told you about a new law in Florida that requires businesses to report the independent contractors they hire to the Florida New Hire Reporting Center to help with child support collection. For decades, Florida law has required employers to report […]

November 2021

FLORIDA EMPLOYERS NOW MUST REPORT INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS HIRED BY THEIR BUSINESS Under a new Florida law effective October 1st, Florida employers must report independent contractors they hire to the Florida New Hire Reporting Center.      Florida employers have been required to report newly hired employees within 20 days of hiring to the New Hire Reporting […]

PAID LEAVE FOR COVID NO LONGER REQUIRED

One of the most frequently asked questions we get at FUBA from our small business members is whether they have to provide paid time off from work to employees dealing with COVID. The answer is no. In 2020, employees were entitled to two weeks (up to 10 weeks in certain circumstances) of paid leave if […]

October 2021

REMINDER: FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE IS NOW $10.00 AN HOUR Effective September 30, 2021, the Florida minimum wage increased to $10.00 an hour, with a minimum wage of $6.98 an hour for tipped employees.  All employees must receive at least the state minimum wage.  Because the minimum wage has changed, a new poster is required at […]

September 2021

Florida Minimum Wage Increasing to $10.00 An Hour September 30th On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved Amendment 2 to the Florida Constitution which will gradually increase the Florida minimum wage to $15 an hour. Starting this year, the minimum wage will increase each September 30th for the next 5 years until the minimum wage […]