Reminder: Your Company’s Annual Report Is Due in Two Weeks
If your business is a corporation or limited liability company (LLC) registered to do business in Florida, state law requires you to file a simple report every year with the state’s corporate registry to keep your company active. These reports are due to the Florida Division of Corporations by May 1st of each year. Reports filed after this deadline are charged a $400 late fee.
The purpose of the annual report is to confirm the information the state has on file about your company or to update any information that may have changed in the last year, like a new mailing address or any officers that need to be added or deleted.
The annual report can only be filed online at the state’s official website at Sunbiz.org. Make sure the page displayed on your computer says “An official State of Florida website” at the top of the page. For corporations, the filing fee paid to the state is $150. For LLC’s, the filing fee paid to the state is $138.75.
Be cautious about solicitations you may receive about your company’s annual report! They are from companies that want to charge you extra to file your company’s annual report, much more than you would pay if you filed it yourself. If you use one of these companies to file your Annual Report, you could end up paying an extra $100 or more.
Filing your company’s Annual Report is very simple and you do not need to pay extra for a private company to file it for you. Here are the steps:
- Find the document number that was assigned to your company when it was first registered with the state Division of Corporations. If you don’t know your company’s document number, you can search the corporate database here.
- To start the filing process, go to Sunbiz.org and click on “Annual Report” under the blue tab that says “Filing Services” or go directly here. It will say Annual Report-Sunbiz at the top. Type in your company’s document number in the box and press “Submit.”
- Your company’s information will be displayed on the screen. Review it and make any needed changes. If everything is correct, click on the green box that says “Move on to the Final Review.”
- You will have the option to order a Certificate of Status for an extra $8.75. This is a printed document from the Division of Corporations confirming that your company is in good standing, and you probably don’t need it. If you ever do need one, you can order it anytime.
- If everything is correct, enter your email address on the next screen and sign the form by typing in your name and title in the appropriate boxes. Then click the green box that says “Move on to Payment Section.”
- The amount due will be displayed on the screen. You can pay by credit card or mail in a check. (Paying with a credit card is the fastest way.)
- Once you’ve entered your payment information, you will receive an email confirming your payment. The website will be updated with your 2022 annual report within 24 hours.
- The state will send a separate email to the designated email address on file for your company confirming that a filing has been made on behalf of your company. This is a security measure to make sure you are aware of filings made on behalf of your company.
If you have any questions about filing your report, you can ask our team of experts by calling our offices at 800-262-4483.