[PLEASE NOTE: This information is only for policyholders insured by Lancer Indemnity Company at the time of the workplace injury.]
You are required by Florida law to report all on-the-job injuries to us within 7 days of the accident. Immediately report all workplace injuries to us using the methods below. Failure to timely report workers’ compensation injuries can result in a fine of up to $2,000 from the State of Florida as well as cancellation of your workers’ compensation insurance policy.
Step 1: Determine Medical Need.
Emergency: In an emergency situation, call 911 or transport the injured worker to the nearest emergency facility. Within 24 hours of initial emergency treatment, report the injury using one of the methods below.
Non-Emergency: In a non-emergency situation, report the injury using one of the methods below. A case nurse or adjuster will assist you in finding medical treatment at one of our approved medical facilities or providers.
Step 2: Report the Work-Related Injury.
- Call 844-433-0993.
- Report online by clicking here.
- Email a First Report of Injury Form* to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Fax a First Report of Injury Form* to 800-315-6090.
* You can download a First Report of Injury Form from the Resources & Documents section of our website.
You can download a PDF of these instructions by clicking here.
SafetyFlorida, located at the University of South Florida in Tampa, is dedicated to helping small businesses prevent work-related injuries. The program is funded by the federal government (OSHA) and the State of Florida. It provides free, confidential assistance to help Florida’s small businesses keep their workers safe. By reducing the costs associated with injuries, small businesses can reduce their workers’ compensation costs and increase productivity.
The Consultation Program provides the following assistance to businesses free of charge:
- On-site safety hazard assessments, including hazard recognition and prevention
- Written safety program evaluations
- Comprehensive safety and health management system evaluations
- Formal and informal training on OSHA standards
SafetyFlorida also maintains a library of safety videos on a wide variety of topics that businesses can check out free of charge. They also provide small businesses with help writing a safety program, which can help a business save 2% off their workers’ comp premium.